One More River to Cross

One More River to Cross

I’m just trying to find my way home,
gritted into gracious severity,
and deportments of a straggling mind.
Conflicted. I tell myself,
just one more river to cross,
but I’m in all the wrong places,
and looking at all the wrong

things, not a care for the rightness
of things, clutching gaping ideas
better left to rest, and I tell myself
just one more river to cross.
Does it shows, that I’m
an exhibit of profound
dispiritedness. Better that you lock

me up before successive distractions
take their toll. You see, I once stood
upright as houses, but now look
at me – a flounderer in nooks,
drooping, and listening
for conversations that require
my silence. And I tell myself that

I’m just trying to find my way home,
the way light finds its way
though shutter slats, the way time
ignores graves. And this journey,
which I hoped to be short,
seems inconsolably long.
But there’s just one more river to cross.

 

inspired by Bleak House

2 thoughts on “One More River to Cross

Leave me a comment. Thanks!

