A Change in January

JanCrocus

A Slight Change in January

These soaked lanes
are so familiar,
as if known to me from cradle.
I can predict its unevenness,

foresee its roll and pitch
without a glance to my feet.
Change here seems wary,
imperceptible,

steady as brown eyes,
and only the appearance
of spring in January
changes the pace of things.

There by the brick edge,
a crowd of yellow crocus
and a smear of icy rain,
and suddenly I am all change.

Morning air floods my head
with much merrier thoughts.

 

Remixed from Edwin Drood and my 1991
Winter Journal from Bletchingley, Surrey.

5 thoughts on “A Change in January

Leave me a comment. Thanks!

