I Do Believe in Beauty

roseI_Believe_Beauty

I Do Believe in Beauty

This rose,
so courteous to release its scent,
to fill the air with so indulgent a look.
So much I gain,
so gracious I am in your proximity.
Softly standing, silky sat,
such easy ceremony. I knew you
to be very good company.

And yet here you are,
left waiting in autumnal fog,
in a swirling chill
against your fading blush.
You whimper not, whither not.
You stand amiable and polite
to the delight of your scent.
Yes, I do believe in beauty.

 

 

 

 Found and Remixed text from “Bleak House”
and my diary of January 1991, Bletchingley, Surrey.

One thought on “I Do Believe in Beauty

Leave me a comment. Thanks!

