A Decant of Quietude

making Fire

“We are learning to make fire.”  – Margaret Atwood

A Decant of Quietude

So much seems strange tonight,
as night is a stranger to daylight.
So strange. Uncharted. Unknown.

And I light a candle, thick and squat,
cold and white, and it decants slowly
into a molten spread of quietude.

I listen. I wait. I watch as he fills
a wine glass with courage, words he’d
never think to say. That glass filling
with giddy expression, that candle

light-hearted with fire, and I am
thinking, wondering, are we learning
to make fire. And then we burn.

 

 

 

 

 

Written for Poetic Bloomings 

Leave me a comment. Thanks!

